Permission to Change
Launching Deeply
Tilted Listener Chris Martin on Publishing, Autism, and Poetry
5
0:00
-57:56

Tilted Listener Chris Martin on Publishing, Autism, and Poetry

5

Chris Martin is a dear friend and the author of several poetry books, as well as the recent May Tomorrow Be Awake: On Poetry, Autism, and our Neurodiverse Future. He is the Editor-at-Large for the Multiverse series of neurodivergent authors at Milkweed Editions and the cofounder of Unrestricted Interest. Chris’ work is a gift; he is one of the most grounded people I know, and he basically speaks in poetry (seriously, just listen for a few minutes). In this conversation we talk about how he straddles chronic illness and being a publishing executive and entrepreneur, parenting and family life, writing new books, and his hopes and aspirations for neurodivergent authors moving forward.


On a separate note, I want to share openly that I have been going through a depression and I have been unable to stick to a consistent schedule for posting my podcast interviews. There are many more interviews to come, and I have been swamped by my own lethargy, sleep challenges, perimenopausal transition and possible midlife crisis (I am now 40 years old, but probably like many other neurodivergents, I feel 50 or 60).

I know I’ll get through this, and I’ve only just begun to write openly about it. Something about crossing 40 makes me feel that “I shouldn’t have these problems anymore” or that it’s shameful to share so openly like I did a decade ago when I was younger. But it’s true what they say that connection and healing begin with vulnerability.

On a different note, my family and I did make a trip to Spain, and I found my senses enlivened.

On yet another note, I think my next book is just about done, which is an existential relief. The publishing industry faced many challenges this past year and projects were delayed, but I’m so grateful to my team for pushing through. It’s been a beautiful collaborative process on a vital yet sensitive topic, and I can’t wait to share with you.

Yours deeply,

Jenara

5 Comments
Permission to Change
Launching Deeply
Behind the scenes with leading thinkers and creatives, Divergent Mind author Jenara Nerenberg shares with you the best of science, music, art, and the news through live event conversations and more. We go in-depth with creators in a slower way than you're used to, behind the bureaucracy and red tape so you can learn what it takes to launch deeply.